transactions

  • OceanServer Technology, Inc.
  • Acquisition by L3 Technologies (NYSE:LLL)
  • Apollo Security International, Inc. of Massachusetts and New York
  • Stock sales to Universal Protection Service, LLC d/b/a Allied Universal Services
  • Frazer Capital & Co.
  • Sale of Back Bay portfolio

Business Counseling

Overview

Every business needs an attorney
Our corporate attorneys act as outside general counsel for many of our business clients, including clients with in-house legal capability.  We advise our clients on the diverse issues that arise as a result of doing business in today’s competitive, litigious and highly regulated business environment.  Most of our corporate clients treat their Posternak attorney as a trusted member of the senior management team, seeking advice on the broad range of contract, conflict resolution, employment, intellectual property and other matters that arise on a daily basis.  In order to provide the best service to our clients, we learn as much as we can about the people and operations that make their business unique –then apply this knowledge to our ongoing representation.  We view our clients’ questions as business questions, and apply our judgment and business acumen, as well as our years of legal expertise, to each matter.

When you need your attorney– now!
Senior managers constantly juggle customers, staff, opportunities, setbacks, proposals and the myriad other matters that make up their business, and when they want the input of their attorney – they want it now.  Executives expect and deserve the attention of a senior attorney who not only knows them and their business, but also has the legal knowledge and experience to provide timely and meaningful advice.  Our clients rely on having access to a senior corporate attorney who works on their schedule.  Our corporate attorneys field the questions, and draw upon the resources of the firm’s employment, litigation, tax, real estate, environmental and other practices as needed to serve a client’s needs.

We have spent decades counseling companies – each with its unique issues
Our corporate attorneys represent decades of experience advising businesses in a broad range of industries and in various stages of growth.  Our clients include manufacturing, service, technology, medical device, advertising, health care, retailing and other industry players.  While middle market companies comprise a substantial portion of the firm’s business clients, we represent a broad range of private and publicly held business entities, from venture capital funded start-up companies seeking rapid growth, to family-held businesses, to large public companies, to venture capitalists, banks and other lenders.  Large or small, each client is important to us.

Our scope is local, national and international
Our businesses clients operate in local, national and international markets, and so do we.  We regularly represent our clients in matters involving customers, business partners and opportunities crossing state and national borders and regularly work across the table from some of the biggest firms in the country. Further, through our membership in Mackrell International, a national and international association of law firms, we are able to quickly obtain legal advice and representation for our clients in most major cities and countries around the world.

Professionals

Michael Andresino

Partner617.973.6113 fax 617.722.4901mandresino@pbl.com

Frank Aronson

Partner617.973.6132 fax 617.722.4953faronson@pbl.com

David Barbash

Managing Partner617.973.6298 fax 617.722.4968dbarbash@pbl.com

Richard Bickelman

Partner617.973.6178 fax 617.722.4988rbickelman@pbl.com

Gerald Billow

Partner617.973.6112 fax 617.367.2315gbillow@pbl.com

Richard Blankstein

Senior Counsel617.973.6114 fax 617.722.4906rblankstein@pbl.com

Donald Bloch

Of Counsel617.973.6169 fax 617.722.4940dbloch@pbl.com

Richard Breed, IV

Associate617.973.6125 fax 617.722.4992 rbreed@pbl.com

Thomas Brennan

Partner617.973.6197 fax 617.722.4970tbrennan@pbl.com

Deborah Carlson

Partner617.973.6201 fax 617.722.4910dcarlson@pbl.com

Ira Deitsch

Partner617.973.6224 fax 617.722.4917ideitsch@pbl.com

Bryce Donohue

Associate617.973.6187 fax 617.925.7596 bdonohue@pbl.com

Brian Gaudet

Partner617.973.6161 fax 617.722.4922 bgaudet@pbl.com

Kathryn Graber

Partner617.973.6196 fax 617.722.4916kgraber@pbl.com

Stewart Grossman

Partner617.973.6278 fax 857.930.4545 sgrossman@pbl.com

Lauren Jennings

Of Counsel617.973.6139 fax 617.722.4931ljennings@pbl.com

Steven Meyer

Partner617.973.6203 fax 617.367.2315smeyer@pbl.com

Barry Mintzer

Partner617.973.6199 fax 617.722.4987bmintzer@pbl.com

Rebecca Mutch

Partner617.973.6162 fax 617.722.4982rmutch@pbl.com

Noel Posternak

Senior Counsel617.973.6100 fax 617.722.4942nposternak@pbl.com

David Reier

Partner617.973.6145 fax 617.722.4937dreier@pbl.com

Ruselle Robinson

Of Counsel617.973.6286 fax 617.367.2315rrobinson@pbl.com

Michael Rubin

Partner617.973.6110 fax 617.722.4911mrubin@pbl.com

David Saltiel

Senior Counsel617.973.6246 fax 617.722.4948dsaltiel@pbl.com

Paul Schmid

Associate617.973.6121 fax 617.925.7601 pschmid@pbl.com

Debra Scribner

Partner617.973.6115 fax 617.722.4984dscribner@pbl.com

Donald Siegel

Partner617.973.6147 fax 617.367.2315dsiegel@pbl.com

Gary Smith

Partner617.973.6277 fax 617.367.2315gsmith@pbl.com

Christopher Tsouros

Partner617.973.6141 fax 617.722.4928ctsouros@pbl.com

Sam Webb

Partner617.973.6151 fax 617.722.4967swebb@pbl.com

Matthew Whitehead

Associate617.973.6128 fax 617.772.4809 mwhitehead@pbl.com

Josh Zakim

Of Counsel617.973.6158 fax 617.722.4955 jzakim@pbl.com

Publications

DraftKings May Be Seeking More Cash

The Boston Globe, David Barbash, October 29, 2015

How Startup Entrepreneurs Can Save For Retirement (Seriously)

Boston.com, Deborah Carlson, January 9, 2014

Twitter's IPO

WRKO, David Barbash, October 10, 2013

In Person: The Dealmaker

Banker & Tradesman, David Barbash, September 9, 2013

How To Turn Your Loved Ones Into Your Business Backers

TheStreet.com, David Barbash, August 23, 2013

Mass. Companies Get Strategic on Foreign Soil

Boston Business Journal, March 1, 2013

What's The Boston Globe Worth?

NECN, Michael Andresino, February 22, 2013

Lessons from Facebook's IPO, and other exit advice for 2013

Boston Business Journal, Startups & Venture Capital Blog, David Barbash, January 16, 2013

The Law of Natural Selection

Boston Business Journal, Lawrence Athan, Jr., January 11, 2013

Avis Buying Zipcar for $490m

NECN, January 2, 2013

US Economy 2013: If Fiscal Cliff Is Avoided, What About The Debt Ceiling?

International Business Times, Deborah Carlson, December 21, 2012

Firms Jump to Lock in Tax Rates

Providence Business Journal, Deborah Carlson, December 17, 2012

Corporate Law Brings Attorney View From Around the World

Boston Business Journal, December 7, 2012

David Barbash on the Key Factors for a Successful Start-Up

Technorati, David Barbash, November 13, 2012

Drafting Confidentiality Agreements in Business Contracts

National Business Institute, Rosanna Sattler, October 19, 2012

Five Questions With: Kevin O’Connell

Providence Business News, October 2, 2012

Advertising Your Private Placement

Michael Andresino, September 19, 2012

Kayak.com IPO Takes Off

NECN, July 20, 2012

Massachusetts Secretary of State probes Facebook

NECN, David Barbash, May 24, 2012

Investors Suing Facebook

WRKO, David Barbash, May 24, 2012

Five Questions With: David M. Barbash

Providence Business News, David Barbash, May 1, 2012

How to avoid making an adversary out of your VC

Boston Business Journal, Startups & Venture Capital Blog, David Barbash, April 25, 2012

Start-ups in Boston

WRKO, David Barbash, March 26, 2012

Section 409A Compliance is December 31, 2008

Deborah Carlson, November 5, 2008

Roundtable: Inbound US M&A

Financier Worldwide, Donald Siegel, September 1, 2008

Giving her a hand

Boston Business Journal, Lauren Jennings, July 1, 2007

Thank you for your interest in our firm. Before sending us an email, we ask that you please confirm your understanding of the following information. Our Web site, www.pbl.com, is intended for general use and is not legal advice. Your email is not intended to create, and our receipt of it does not create or constitute, an attorney-client relationship. Any information that you provide to anyone at our firm cannot be considered confidential or privileged unless we agree to represent you. By sending this email, you confirm that you have read and understand this notice.

Processing email...